Transparence et confiance – Nous sommes fiers d’être le seul site sur lequel les utilisateurs peuvent librement contribuer et partager leurs avis sur n’importe quel antivirus avec d’autres membres de la communauté. Lorsque vous consultez un site d’antivirus par le biais d’un lien présent sur notre site, nous recevons parfois des commissions qui soutiennent notre travail. Lisez-en davantage sur notre fonctionnement.

Évaluation de Windows Defender 2019 – Fonctionne-t-il vraiment ?

James Taylor
James Taylor
Notre verdict:

Vous pensez qu’un programme installé par défaut est forcément de mauvaise qualité et pauvre en fonctionnalités ? Windows Defender prouve le contraire. Cet outil souvent négligé inclut en réalité toute une gamme de fonctionnalités antivirus et de sécurité sur Internet. En fait, pour de nombreux utilisateurs, il pourrait être suffisant pour assurer la sécurité de leur ordinateur.

Ecrire une revue de Windows Defender

0.0/ 5.0

Veuillez renseigner votre adresse électronique pour soumettre votre avis

Avis d’expert détaillé

L’outil de protection contre les programmes malveillants et pare-feu intégré à Windows, Windows Defender, n’est peut-être pas le premier produit qui vous vient à l’esprit lorsque vous cherchez une protection de qualité contre les menaces comme les logiciels-espions et les chevaux de Troie. Cet outil intégré dispose-t-il de suffisamment de fonctionnalités pour vous protéger, ou devriez-vous chercher ailleurs ? Voici ce que j’ai découvert durant mon évaluation.

Sécurité

Le Centre de sécurité Windows Defender offre une protection basique contre les virus, les chevaux de Troie, les rançongiciels et les autres formes de programmes malveillants. Il est installé par défaut avec Windows, donc si vous ne souhaitez pas installer une solution tierce, votre système dispose au moins d’une protection contre ces menaces. En outre, le programme détecte automatiquement les autres antivirus que vous pouvez installer. Cela vous permet de supprimer tous vos anciens programmes si vous souhaitez faire de Windows Defender votre seule protection contre les menaces en lignes.

Forte approbation des laboratoires de test

Après avoir évalué Windows Defender pendant trois jours, j’ai été agréablement surprise par les nombreuses fonctionnalités offertes par cet outil gratuit. Je ne suis pas la seule à l’apprécier : le laboratoire indépendant AV-Test l’a régulièrement classé parmi les 10 meilleures solutions en matière de détection des virus, et le programme a obtenu une note parfaite pour la suppression de programmes malveillants (mes échantillons de test ont tous été détectés).

Une seule mise en garde : l’outil ne détecte pas et ne supprime donc pas les vecteurs de programmes malveillants à « risques faibles », comme les logiciels publicitaires, car la majorité des utilisateurs peuvent vivre avec. Même si ces logiciels publicitaires peuvent encombrer votre système de notifications énervantes, l’expérience est globalement moins irritante que de voir son système piraté (ou votre identité volée) par un morceau de programme malveillant en liberté.

En parlant de rançongiciels, il existe également une intégration intéressante à la plateforme de stockage en ligne de Microsoft, OneDrive, pour vous protéger contre cette menace grandissante. Les utilisateurs peuvent utiliser Defender pour copier des dossiers personnels vers OneDrive, afin de pouvoir toujours y accéder s’ils sont verrouillés par un virus demandant le paiement d’une rançon.

La protection offerte par Microsoft inclut une protection Cloud, les utilisateurs bénéficient donc d’une protection contre les vulnérabilités, pour lesquelles des signatures ont déjà été créées, ainsi que contre les menaces émergentes. Rien à redire ici.

Fonctionnalités

En plus de la protection contre les virus et les menaces, Windows Defender intègre également le pare-feu Windows Defender avec sécurité avancée. Cet outil n’est pas particulièrement accessible aux débutants, mais vous permet de créer et administrer des règles complètes de pare-feu en matière de protection entrante et sortante. Les pare-feux sont vitaux pour protéger la sécurité de votre réseau local, j’ai donc été impressionnée par l’exhaustivité de l’outil de Microsoft.

Il propose également une protection contre l’hameçonnage automatiquement intégrée, par défaut, dans les navigateurs Microsoft : Microsoft Edge et Internet Explorer. J’ai testé certaines URL connues pour pratiquer l’hameçonnage et référencées sur phishtank.com et elles ont toutes été signalées par le système, je ne peux malheureusement pas dire la même chose de Google Chrome, qui m’a laissé accéder aux mêmes URLS sans les signaler comme suspectes (eh oui, j’avais activé l’option « protection contre les sites dangereux »). Pour ceux qui souhaitent ajouter la protection de Defender à Chrome, l’extension Windows Defender Browser Protection doit être installé depuis le Chrome Web Store.

Nombreuses options de contrôle parental

Le fait que Defender inclut un filtre très complet de contrôle parental m’a véritablement impressionné. Ces paramètres sont configurés dans le cloud et les comptes Windows des membres de la famille peuvent être ajoutés afin que leurs accès puissent être supervisés et contrôlés par un administrateur de la famille. En fait, Microsoft vous permet même de créer des comptes Windows spéciaux pour vos enfants, et les paramètres de protection seront automatiquement appliqués lorsqu’ils se connecteront et navigueront à l’aide Microsoft Edge (il vous faudra verrouiller l’accès aux autres navigateurs si vous les avez installés). En plus des fonctionnalités de listes blanches et noires, les administrateurs peuvent configurer des limites de temps et accéder à des rapports d’activité de navigation.

Facilité d’utilisation

Windows Defender est préinstallé sur tous les PC Windows et, si aucun autre antivirus n’est installé, il est automatiquement activé. Cela signifie naturellement qu’aucune installation n’est requise. Le programme offre une protection dès le premier allumage. Les paramètres sont accessibles dans deux zones : le Centre de sécurité Windows Defender, qui inclut l’analyse antivirus, le contrôle parental, le pare-feu basique et les fenêtres de dialogue concernant la santé du système, et le pare-feu Windows Defender avec sécurité avancé. Ce dernier est plutôt réservé à un usage expert, mais le Centre de sécurité est incroyablement rapide et simple à utiliser.

Assistance

Windows Defender est un composant en série, Microsoft résoudra donc tous les problèmes que vous êtes susceptibles de rencontrer. L’aide en ligne et la FAQ contiennent des guides sur la mise en route des analyses et la résolution des problèmes courants. S’il ne réussit pas à résoudre le problème, les utilisateurs peuvent « parler » avec l’agent virtuel de Microsoft (qui a réussi à comprendre ma question dès le premier essai et qui m’a également dirigé vers la ressource d’assistance dont j’avais besoin pour configurer mon analyse). Enfin, les utilisateurs ont accès au réseau d’assistance mondial de Microsoft, qui comprend à la fois une assistance par téléphone et par le biais d’un système de ticket. On peut dire que si vous rencontrez un problème avec Windows Defender, Microsoft dispose de plus de ressources qu’il n’en faut pour vous aider à le résoudre.

Tarif

Windows Defender et tous ses composants sont inclus dans le système d’exploitation Windows. L’outil offre des fonctionnalités particulièrement impressionnantes et j’ai apprécié le fait que Microsoft ne tente pas de vous inciter à d’autres achats au sein de cet outil.

Conclusion

James Taylor
James Taylor

Pour la plupart des utilisateurs, se fier à Windows Defender comme antivirus et suite de sécurité sur Internet ne présente aucun problème. Il est facile à utiliser, élimine la majorité des virus et des programmes malveillants et les utilisateurs ont accès à l’une des meilleures assistances du monde s’ils ont besoin d’aide.

Découvrez les 3 meilleurs antivirus alternatifs

Avis d’utilisateurs pour Windows Defender

8 1
Selon 9 avis dans 5 langues 2.8
Language
Il n'y a aucun avis pourWindows Defender en français,si vous avez une expérience avec leurs services, s'il vous plaît soyez le premier à écrire un commentaire dans en français
La confiance de nos utilisateurs est notre priorité absolue ! Les éditeurs d’antivirus ne peuvent pas payer pour modifier ou faire supprimer des avis.

Aucun avis utilisateur trouvé. Soyez le premier à laisser un avis sur Windows Defender !

Rédiger un avis
Transparence et confiance – Nous sommes fiers d’être le seul site sur lequel les utilisateurs peuvent librement contribuer et partager leurs avis sur n’importe quel antivirus avec d’autres membres de la communauté. Lorsque vous consultez un site d’antivirus par le biais d’un lien présent sur notre site, nous recevons parfois des commissions qui soutiennent notre travail. Lisez-en davantage sur notre fonctionnement.

Transparency and Trust – We pride ourselves on being the only site where users can freely contribute and share their reviews on any antivirus with other community members. When you visit an antivirus site we link to, we sometimes get affiliate commissions that support our work. Read more about how we operate.

Windows Defender Antivirus Review 2020 - Does it Actually Work? 

Our Verdict:
Windows Defender comes pre-installed on all PCs, and for a free antivirus, it’s not bad. It’s definitely not the best free antivirus (there are better), but it’s OK if you’re not doing anything important on your Windows machine. That said, it’s still a free antivirus. It doesn’t get updated often, doesn’t provide advanced protection against most malware threats, and has no accountability — you can’t complain to Microsoft if your PC gets hacked. I do not now and have never trusted Windows Defender to keep my computer secure. I recommend that most people don’t deal with the frustrations and risks of a free antivirus (especially one which comes pre-installed), and instead opt for a low-cost premium antivirus like Norton 360.

Write Review on Windows Defender

0.0/ 5.0

Please enter your email address to submit your review

Detailed Expert Review

As Windows’ built-in anti-malware and firewall tool, Windows Defender may not be the first thing that comes to mind when you’re looking for premium-grade protection against threats like spyware and Trojans. Does this built-in tool have enough functionality to protect against these, or should you look elsewhere? Here’s what I found out during my evaluation.

Security

Windows Defender Security Center provides basic protection against viruses, Trojans, ransomware, and other malware forms. It’s installed with Windows by default, so even if you don’t wish to install a third-party solution, your system has at least some level of protection against these threats. Additionally, the program automatically detects other antivirus systems you may have installed. This makes it easy to remove any old scanners if you want to entrust Windows Defender with being the sole protection against online threats.

Strong Endorsement from Testing Labs

After evaluating Windows Defender over three days, I was pleasantly surprised by the wealth of features in this free default tool. I’m also not the only one that thinks highly of it: independent laboratory AV-Test has frequently ranked Defender within their top ten solutions for virus detection, and the program achieved a perfect score for malware removal (my test samples were all detected).

The one caveat: the tool doesn’t detect and remove many so-called “low risk” malware vectors, such as adware, because most users can live with it. While adware can bloat your system with annoying popups, the experience is overall far less irritating than having your system hijacked (or your identity stolen) by a piece of ransomware allowed to run loose.

Speaking of ransomware, there’s also a nice integration with Microsoft’s cloud storage platform, OneDrive, to protect against this ever-growing threat. Users are able to copy critical personal folders through Defender into OneDrive so that they can still access them in the event that they’re locked down by a virus demanding a ransom payment. But there’s no protection against actual ransomware threats, just an integration with another (paid) Microsoft product.

Features

In addition to virus and threat protection, Windows Defender also includes Windows Defender Firewall with Advanced Security. This tool isn’t particularly user-friendly but does allow you to create and administer comprehensive firewall rules for both inbound and outbound protections. Firewalls are vital for protecting the security of your local network, so I was impressed that Microsoft’s tool was so comprehensive.

There’s also phishing protection which automatically integrates, by default, with Microsoft’s own browsers: Microsoft Edge and Internet Explorer. I tested out some known phishing URLs from phishtank.com and they were all successfully flagged by the system—unfortunately, I couldn’t say the same for Google Chrome, which let me access the same URLs without flagging them as suspicious (and yes, I had the “protect you from dangerous sites” option enabled). For those that want to add Defender’s protection to Chrome, the Windows Defender Browser Protection plugin needs to be installed from the Chrome Web Store.

Feature-Rich Parental Control Options

What really impressed me is the fact that Defender includes a comprehensive parental control filter. These settings are configured online in the cloud and family members’ Windows accounts can be added so that their access can be monitored and controlled by an admin in the family. In fact, Microsoft even allows you to create special Windows accounts for your children, and the protection settings will automatically be applied whenever they log in and browse the net using Microsoft Edge (you’ll want to lock down access to other browsers if you have them installed). In addition to whitelisting and blacklisting functionalities, administrators are able to configure time limits and pull-down reports about browsing activity.

While the parental controls are OK for a free antivirus, they’re nothing like the ones you’d get with Norton or Panda.

Ease of use

Windows Defender comes pre-installed on every Windows PC and, if no other antiviruses are installed, is automatically enabled. Naturally, this means that there’s no installation required. The program offers protection right out of the box. Settings are administered in two areas: the Windows Defender Security Center, which includes virus scanning, parental control, basic firewall, and system health dialogs, and Windows Defender Firewall with Advanced Security. The latter is better reserved for expert use but the Security Center itself is fast and straightforward to use.

Support

Windows Defender is a factory-installed component, so Microsoft will resolve any issue you may encounter. The online Help and FAQ Center contains guides on how to set up scans and resolve common difficulties. If that fails to resolve the issue, users can “talk” to the Microsoft Virtual Agent (which was able to understand my question on the first try, and also directed me to the exact support resource I required to configure my scan). Finally, users have access to Microsoft’s global support network, which includes both telephone support and a ticket-based system. It’s fair to say that if you encounter a problem with Windows Defender, Microsoft has more than enough resources to get you unstuck.

That said, Microsoft explicitly states in their Terms and Conditions that they are not responsible for your computer’s protection if it becomes infected with malware. Compare this with a substantially better antivirus like McAfee or Norton who both have a “Virus Protection Promise”.

Pricing

Windows Defender and all its components are included in the Windows operating system. The tool provides some seriously impressive functionality and I appreciated the fact that Microsoft does not attempt to upsell within the tool.

But the reason they don’t try to upsell you is because there’s nothing more to offer! In short, it’s basic protection, and if you’re relying on your PC for important things — work, online shopping, data storage, communication, etc. — Windows Defender is not going to keep you protected. There are other free Windows antiviruses which work well, but in general, free antiviruses are not meant to offer complete device protection. For that, you’ll need a premium antivirus — luckily, many of them are cheap, powerful, and 100% secure.

Windows Defender

Windows Defender Products & Pricing

Windows Defender
Operating System
Trial
Price
Read More

Bottom Line

For some basic PC users, there’s nothing wrong with relying on Windows Defender as an antivirus and internet security suite. But for the vast majority of people — those who need their PC for work, for online shopping and banking, for communicating with friends and family, etc. — Windows Defender is not good. Since my PC has a ton of personal and sensitive information (banking info, passwords, photos, music/video files, etc.), I don’t trust using a free antivirus. My top recommendation of 2020 for Windows users is Norton 360. It’s inexpensive, reputable, has a ton of extra features, and offers guaranteed protection from every kind of malware. You can start with their cheapest plan.

About the Author

James is an expert technology writer with a focus on cyber security and BI.

Check the top 3 alternative antivirus programs

Windows Defender User Reviews

12 2
Based on 14 reviews in 6 languages 4.2
Language
You can trust the Community! Companies can't ask us to delete or change user reviews.
Pretty decent
Windows User
today it deleted malware files it was a trojan file and it detected it, prevented it from executing and deleted it when I wanted to. I think I'm safe with it for a while.
Aashish Trivedi
Aashish Trivedi
Canada
4.0
Performance needs to be reviewed again as of June 2019
Android User
Dear James, thanks for the great review, I like it.
Since last week, 12Jun19 Windows defender has performance issues. While it's running, it will slow down my laptop top resulting in frozen screen. I can't run it while I am using some applications like YT. Can you please research and comment?
R.A. Carey
R.A. Carey
United States
5.0
Windows Defender Found Viruses better than the plan i bought
Windows User
I have Windows Defender with my Windows 10 system, it does a deeper clean than Spectrum Virus Scan, Spectrum never found any threats but Defender always does!
Sue
Sue
United States
1.0
Windows defender is not real
Windows User
Microsoft bought giant out.Why they tell everybody theres a an antivirus in there I dont know.But it is a lie
user avatar
Chuck Balogh Sue
Feb. 19, 2020
Your comment is very negative. Can you support it with more information. I want to know what everyone thinks but you don't give much more than "an opinion" at this point. Please embellish.
Bilwediz
Bilwediz
United Kingdom
5.0
Top Class
iOS User
Satya Nadella said Windows 10 would be the most secure Windows ever. It’s getting there. The acquisition of Israeli Technology like Hexadite coincided with the improvement. The Firm was set up by three Ex Army Technicians and they are the best NIL SATIS NISI OPTIMUM. Well done Redmond
Transparency and Trust – We pride ourselves on being the only site where users can freely contribute and share their reviews on any antivirus with other community members. When you visit an antivirus site we link to, we sometimes get affiliate commissions that support our work. Read more about how we operate.