FloC跟踪检查工具

Google的Google正在一大批Chrome浏览器用户身上进行FLoC(同类群组联合学习)追踪测试。快看看你的浏览器是否被这项新技术盯上了。

FLoC是什么?

FloC译为同类群组联合学习,是一种向用户提供目标广告的新方法,可以防止广告商和网站建立起详细的用户画像。FLoC使用一种算法来创建一个“队列”,一个队列中有几千个具有类似浏览活动的用户,这样广告商可以为一组用户而不是特定用户定制广告。

Google在2019年推出FLoC,作为其“隐私沙盒”计划的一部分。该计划包括防止Chrome浏览器接受第三方Cookie,阻止浏览器进行指纹识别,使Google Chrome浏览器不再成为广告商的数据宝库。不过,FLoC仍在跟踪用户活动,而且为广告商提供了大量信息。

FloC的原理是什么?

FLoC使用一个名为“SimHash”的算法,它会根据你的浏览活动,每周为你分配一个群组ID。FLoC在本地(在你的设备上)分配你的队列ID,这样Google就无法收到你所有的浏览数据。也就是说,Google需要监督,确保队列的大小合适,但Google声称,他们的监督算法将对数据进行匿名处理。队列ID被分配成功后,将通过Javascript API进行公开,允许第三方营销人员为你提供符合你兴趣的广告。

Google希望能同时满足广告商的精准投放需求和用户的隐私保护需求,所以尽量提升群组的多样性,将用户隐藏在人群中,同时保证广告商能针对性的提供与用户关联性强的广告。

FloC会跟踪哪些信息?

FloC会跟踪用户所有的浏览行为,包括访问过的网站,网站停留时间和网站互动方式。目前还不清楚的是,Google会通过FloC分享的哪些信息来给用户分组,并且如何确保群组的规模。不过,可以确定的是,你访问的任何网站都会看到你所在的FLoC队列。而且,每个队列只有几千个用户,第三方仍然可以通过各种浏览器指纹技术来识别具体用户。

怎么屏蔽FloC追踪?

目前还没有办法选择不使用FLoC。但是,你可以选择在Chrome浏览器中禁用第三方cookie。具体方法: 点击浏览器右上角的三个点,然后选择“设置”>“隐私设置和安全性”>“Cookie及其他网站数据”>“阻止第三方Cookie”。这样可以关闭FLoC,但也可能导致网站出现故障,经常访问的网站无法记住有用的偏好。

屏蔽FloC(以及Google所有的数据收集策略)最快捷的方法是换一个更安全的浏览器,比如主打隐私保护的搜索引擎DuckDuckGo。如果你还是想用Chrome,那使用VPN可以帮助你实现匿名上网,隐藏IP地址以及一些浏览相关的活动。

常见问题解答

Google为什么要实行FloC追踪?

随着互联网成为人们生活的必要组成部分,不断有人向Google等大公司施压,要求其保护用户的隐私。其中,影响力最大的隐私的运动是欧盟实施的GDPR(通用数据保护条例),这一系列法律规定,未经同意在用户的浏览器上安装cookies是非法的。2021年4月,欧盟也开始正式制定其电子隐私条例,进一步扩大了GDPR的隐私保护范围。

这些来自公众和执法机构的压力,让Google不得不想出一个更好的方法来帮助第三方广告商打造有针对性的广告。FloC既满足了用户隐私保护的需求,又保证数字广告商能够了解用户,以提供有针对性的广告。

FloC会给我们带来什么隐私威胁?

Google FloC背后的运作方式是,尽管你的个人身份“淹没”在具有相同群组ID的用户中,但广告商仍然能够向你发送目标广告。然而,这种方法会引起许多隐私问题。

  • 浏览器指纹识别。通过缩小群组ID,用户的Chrome插件、扩展程序、偏好和设置,以及IP地址都可以被获取,而这些信息可以用来识别用户的个人身份。
  • 歧视性广告。Google方表明,FLOC将过滤掉与种族、性取向和宗教等有关的网站和搜索,以便广告商在选择显示的广告时不会有歧视性。但是,Google过去曾阻止失败歧视性广告,而且FLOC白皮书中没有任何内容表明会改变这一点。
  • 虚假的安全感。虽然FloC让第三方广告商难以识别用户的个人身份,但这不能阻止Google在Google搜索、YouTube等自家服务上收集用户的个人数据。此外,Google将不断监测数据,将用户分门别类,持续获得大量的个人数据。
FLoC服务如何让浏览器分辨出它的同类

FLoC每周整合用户的浏览数据,并将其录入进一个名为“SimHash”的算法中。SimHash会在你的浏览器上本地运行(防止Google直接分析你的所有浏览器活动),并根据一组内置标准分配一个群组ID。

Google目前使用中心化的数据中心来分析队列规模和人口,不断进行干预,以确保队列规模适当,以及年龄、性别、种族和其他相关特征的适当分布。据称,用户数据在被这一集中式服务分析之前是匿名的,但在从“匿名“数据中收集到的个人身份信息的数量上看,这个方法已经出现了很多重大问题。

网站可以选择退出FLoC的跟踪计算吗?

可以。支持第三方广告的网站都是默认加入FloC追踪计划里的,不过,关闭它也很简单。网站管理员需要在页面中加入如下HTTP响应头部内容:

  • Permissions-Policy: interest-cohort=()

FLoC Checker Tool

Google’s FLoC (Federated Learning of Cohorts) is currently being tested on a large network of Chrome browsers. Find out if your browser is being invaded with this new technology now.

What is FLoC?

FLoC stands for “federated learning of cohorts”. It’s a new method for delivering targeted ads to users that’s supposed to prevent advertisers and websites from building up detailed user profiles. FLoC uses an algorithm to create a “cohort” — a cohort is a few thousand users with similar browsing activity, thereby allowing advertisers to tailor ads to a group of users rather than to specific users.

Google introduced FLoC as part of its “Privacy Sandbox” initiative in 2019. The initiative includes efforts to prevent Chrome from accepting 3rd-party cookies, block browser fingerprinting, and generally make Google Chrome less of a treasure trove of data for advertisers. All that said, FLoC still tracks user activity, and it still gives advertisers a lot of information.

How does FLoC work?

FLoC uses an algorithm called “SimHash” to assign you a cohort ID once per week based on your browsing activity. FLoC assigns your cohort ID locally (on your device), thus keeping Google from receiving all of your browsing data. That said, there needs to be oversight from Google to ensure that cohorts are the right size, but Google claims that their oversight algorithm will anonymize your data. Once your cohort ID is assigned, it’s displayed publicly using a Javascript API, allowing third-party marketers to serve you advertisements that match your interests.

By ensuring that these cohorts are diverse enough to “hide users in the crowd” but targeted enough for advertisers to deliver relevant ads, Google is hoping to satisfy both advertisers and privacy-minded users.

What information is FLoC tracking?

FLoC is designed to track all of your browsing activity — what websites you visit, how long you spend on those websites, and how you interact with those websites. It’s unclear exactly what information FLoC shares with Google in order to ensure that you’re in the proper cohort and that your cohort is the correct size. But what is clear is that your FLoC cohort will be visible to any website you visit. And since each cohort only contains a few thousand users, third parties can still identify you using various browser fingerprinting techniques.

How can I opt out of FLoC?

Currently, there is no way to specifically opt out of FLoC. But you can choose to disable third-party cookies in Chrome by clicking the three dots in the top right corner of the browser, then selecting “Settings” > “Privacy and security” > “Cookies and other site data” > “Block third-party cookies”. This will turn off FLoC, but it can also cause websites to malfunction and prevent helpful preferences from being remembered on the sites you frequently visit.

The quickest way to opt out of FLoC (and all of Google’s data collection tactics) is to move to a more secure browser and to start using a privacy-oriented search engine like DuckDuckGo. If you still want to use Chrome, using a VPN will help anonymize your IP address and some browsing-related activities.

Frequently Asked Questions

Why is Google implementing FLoC?

As the internet becomes a necessary part of our lives, advocates are putting pressure on big corporations like Google to protect users’ privacy. The most significant privacy-based movement was the European Union’s implementation of the GDPR (General Data Protection Regulation), a series of laws that made it illegal to install cookies on a user’s browser without consent. In April 2021, the EU also began formalizing its ePrivacy Regulation, which further expands privacy protections established by the GDPR.

All of this public and legislative pressure has forced Google to figure out a better way to help third-party advertisers deliver targeted ads. FLoC attempts to balance the need for user privacy with digital advertisers’ needs to know enough about you to deliver targeted ads.

What privacy threats does FLoC pose?

The idea behind Google FLoC is that advertisers will still be able to send you targeted ads even though your personal identity will be “lost in the crowd” of users with the same cohort ID. However, there are still many privacy issues with this approach.

  • Browser fingerprinting. By narrowing down your cohort ID, it’s possible to personally identify you by gathering data about your Chrome plugins, extensions, preferences, and settings, along with your IP address.
  • Discriminatory advertising. Google claims that FLoC will filter out websites and searches that pertain to things like race, sexuality, and religion so that advertisers aren’t able to discriminate when choosing which ads to display. But Google has repeatedly failed to prevent discriminatory advertising in the past, and there’s nothing in the FLoC whitepaper that suggests this will change.
  • False sense of security. While FLoC makes it harder for third-party advertisers to personally identify you, this still doesn’t prevent Google from collecting personal data on Google Search, YouTube, or any other Google service. Furthermore, Google will be constantly monitoring data and sorting users into cohorts, allowing Google to continue having access to a lot of personal data.
How does the FLoC service enable the browser to sort out its cohorts?

FLoC consolidates the user’s browsing data every week and feeds that into an algorithm called “SimHash”. SimHash runs locally on your browser (preventing Google from directly analyzing all of your browser activity) and assigns a cohort ID based on a built-in set of criteria.

That said, Google currently uses a centralized data hub to analyze cohort sizes and populations, constantly intervening to ensure that cohorts are properly sized and contain a proper distribution of ages, genders, ethnicities, and other relevant traits. Supposedly, user data is anonymized before being analyzed by this centralized service, but there have been a lot of significant issues raised with the amount of personally identifying information that can be gathered from “anonymized” data sets.

Can websites opt out of the FLoC computation?

Yes. While all websites that serve third-party ads are automatically included in FLoC, opting out is pretty simple — webmasters can add the following HTTP response header to their pages:

  • Permissions-Policy: interest-cohort=()