2019年最佳Chrome密码管理软件

透明度和信任 – 作为唯一一家可以让用户和其它社区成员自由交流意见并分享评论的网站,我们对此感到自豪。如果您通过我们网站的链接访问防病毒产品网站,我们就可以获得联盟佣金以更好地为您服务。详细了解我们的运营情况
Felicity Kay(费利西蒂·凯)
网络安全专家
更新版: 2019年6月6日

The Best Password Managers for Chrome 2019也许您知道Chrome浏览器会自动的保存您所有的密码(整个系统运行是标准的密码自动捕获过程),但是您是否考虑过,关于适合Chrome浏览器的最佳密码管理软件,有待进一步考察和考虑。

是的,Chrome自带的密码管理解决方案是免费的,可以自动捕获信息并且使用相当方便,甚至完全不会影响您。然而,如果您把它与市场上那些产品进行一个全面的比较,您就会发现这款免费的软件并没有提供太多的功能,甚至存在着一定的限制。

我们的评价

1. LastPass – 最完美的Chrome扩展程序

2. Dashlane – 最好的额外功能,哪怕缺乏相关经验也得心应手

3. RoboForm – 最佳跨操作系统的产品

4. Enpass – 最适合Chrome首选用户使用

5. 1Password – 最适合Chrome易于使用的产品

6. Keeper – 最好的分享功能

7. Blur – 最具有(真实)安全意识的产品

8. Zoho Vault – 最适合现有的Zoho用户使用

9. BitWarden – 最好的“多功能合一”扩展程序

10. Myki – 最适合健忘的用户

想要了解更多关于如何选择最佳Chrome密码管理软件相关信息,欢迎点击这里

我们评选最佳密码管理软件的标准

我们对市场上超过70款密码管理软件进行测试,内容包括了外形、规格和附加功能,我们对至少一到两个方面做了完整的测试,并整理出详细的报告希望可以帮助您做出最适合自己需求的选择。

以下是我们在评选最佳Chrome密码管理软件的过程中评判并测评的几个方面:分别包括 –

  • 功能设置: 这些产品提供的功能类型有哪些?在免费方案中可以获得多少功能以及必不可少的支出又是多少?
  • 安全性: Chrome内置的密码管理软件最大的问题就在于其安全性不能得到保障。那么相比较于其他密码管理软件又如何呢?
  • 支持的平台、操作系统和设备的数量: 由于您的密码管理软件需要和Chrome设备协同使用,那么也需要支持在其它平台和设备之间可以同步。
  • 定价: 密码管理软件是否提供免费的试用服务,是否值得购买,或是否提供值得购买的更具价值的付费版本?用户究竟可以得到哪一些服务,以及付费的版本是否真的物有所值。

最佳Chrome密码管理软件(2019) – 更新版

最优秀的密码管理软件会为您的Chrome设备提供一系列您意想不到的附加功能,从家庭或团队成员之间的密码分享,到个人用户的多设备数据同步,每一款被选中的顶级产品,都会被从每一处细节入手,全面的测试和评估。

总的来说,我们认为2019年最佳Chrome密码管理软件是LastPass,因为它设计简洁直观,实用的Chrome浏览器扩展程序,以及跨浏览器和跨设备的自动同步功能。值得一提的是其Android系统应用程序,这是一款非常出色的标准密码管理软件,与Chrome浏览器同步时表现更佳!

1. LastPass – 最完美的Chrome扩展程序

我们满意之处

LastPass在大多数的排名中都名列前茅:可直接通过Chrome运行并表现出色,同时也支持跨大部分的操作系统和设备(甚至支持Internet Explorer!),让您可以轻松且直观的在任何设备或平台之间实现同步。

其Chrome扩展程序仅需简单的点击就可以实现安装,甚至支持直接通过扩展程序使用备受推崇的安全密码生成程序。扩展程序中的“最近使用”项目,让您可以清楚的查看密码最近的使用情况,这样您就可以随时关注密码的登录相关信息,避免任何可疑的登录操作!

值得您注意之处

虽然LastPass经常获得非常高的评价,其出色的功能范围、易于使用的功能特性以及其它各种功能,但需要提醒您的是,不同于Google Chrome的SmartLock功能,它并不是自动运行的,任何通过CSV文件或其它的密码管理软件,导入密码等操作都需要手动完成。

工作原理

在设备上成功安装LastPass软件之后,您需要通过链接安装Chrome浏览器扩展程序。操作完成之后,将会被引导设置安全主密码。如您你愿意,还可以安装

应用程序,或开始浏览您最常访问的网站或是完成密码导入等其它设置。

2. Dashlane – 最好的额外功能,哪怕缺乏相关经验也得心应手

我们满意之处

Dashlane经常在‘最佳密码管理软件’的评选过程中榜上有名,干净、简洁的用户界面 ,但主要还是归功于其略显奇怪但非常必要的附加功能:暗网(Dark Web)监测和VPN服务。就目前的表现而言,比SmartLock更加先进。

Dashlane的ChromeOS操作系统浏览器插件让您可以实现轻松一键导入密码…但这还不是最厉害的地方。比较于Smartlock(或有可能)提供的服务,更甚一筹的是直接与浏览器集成的一键密码生成和转换程序:您可以查看导入密码列表,安全状况的分析报告,以及一些其它的功能,如自动的安全提升建议…所有的一切,仅需要一次点击就可以实现,就可以将每一个密码变得更加安全可靠。

值得您注意之处

如果您打算测试使用Dashlane提供的免费版本,您也许会感到失望,因为只提供了一些基础的功能,限制保存50个密码,只支持一台设备使用。所以我们建议您,最好选择高级的软件版本,这样您才可以正常使用。

工作原理

下载Dashlane或直接通过Chrome扩展程序网页,然后登录或设置您的主密码。取决于您是否开启两步验证,会在移动设备上收到含有登录验证码的SMS信息。

3. RoboForm – 最佳跨操作系统的产品

¥170 - ¥339 / 年

我们满意之处

虽然RoboForm同时提供了扩展程序和应用程序供您使用,但Chrome浏览器扩展程序给我们留下了更为深刻的印象。

RoboForm的离线访问和本地存储服务,再加上简洁、易于使用的Chrome浏览器扩展程序,使其成为市场上最受用户欢迎的密码管理软件之一。

值得您注意之处

RoboForm的密码生成程序和两步验证服务并不非常出色,或者说和其它款密码管理软件比要逊色一些,但是至少提供了该功能,让用户可以通过Chrome浏览器扩展程序访问使用。

工作原理

打开Chrome扩展程序,可以通过网络应用程序也可以通过Google搜索‘Chrome RoboForm 扩展程序’ (您需要提前设置账号),然后再设置主密码,并开始导入密码。整个过程非常的简单。

4. Enpass – 最适合Chrome首选用户使用

我们满意之处

就像网上所赞誉的那样,这是‘Chromebook首款离线密码管理软件’,这也意味着该软件针对Chrome的操作系统实现了完整的优化。

如果您是Chrome的SmartLock功能的粉丝,那么Enpass也提供了类似的服务,甚至有所更新:提供了一个超强的密码生成程序(这是SmartLock没有提供的),而且也更加兼容且更安全。

值得您注意之处

Enpass采用本地存储功能。对于某些用户而言,SmartLock的云加密密码存储方式或许意味着更安全…尽管Enpass是一款零知识密码管理软件采用本地加密的方式。具体如何选择完全取决于您的个人安全偏好。

工作原理

不需要订购就可以下载Enpass软件,只需要访问Chrome商店,安装Enpass网络程序/移动应用,然后完成整个步骤。如果您想要在其它的设备上安装Enpass,您需要首先设置一个主密码再导入其它全部密码,跨设备之间的数据会自动同步更新。

5. 1Password – 最适合Chrome易于使用的产品

¥213 - ¥354 / 年

我们满意之处

1Password非常的简单且易于使用,这也使其非常适合配合Chrome一起使用。该浏览器扩展程序提供了相当有趣的功能服务,包括了在扩展程序中可以使用的快捷搜索栏,以及密码生成程序。

此外,在您访问网站的过程中还提供了自动捕获密码的功能,这不是理所当然的服务!

值得您注意之处

如果您打算安装1Password的Chrome浏览器扩展程序,需要提醒您的是,最好直接通过网络应用程序的方式,因为如果您在Chrome商店中直接搜索‘1Password’,会显示三个不同的结果,这会让您产生困惑,究竟哪一款才是真正的程序。

工作原理

下载1Password桌面客户端程序(而不是应用程序)时,系统会提醒您同时下载Chrome浏览器扩展程序(这是正确的下载方式),而同时您需要首先创建一个账户。

6. Keeper – 最好的分享功能

我们满意之处

Keeper本身是一款兼容性非常强的密码管理软件,其Chrome扩展程序也保留了这一不错的优点。不论您是个人、商业还是企业用户,您都可以获得包括Chrome浏览器扩展程序在内的一系列的功能,以及无限制设备同步、安全记录分享,甚至可以访问密码生成程序。这些都不是每一款密码管理软件会提供的服务。

值得您注意之处

虽然Keeper提供了30天免费试用服务,但是并没有免费的方案,不过Keeper是值得付费购买的。密码自动捕捉、密码生成和真正易于使用的用户界面帮助您可以立即使用。

工作原理

Keeper是一款一键安装的密码管理软件,可以直接通过Chrome的商店或通过网络应用程序安装,其自动密码导入功能令人印象深刻。在安装Chrome浏览器扩展程序之前,需要确保已经设置好主安全密码和开启两步验证设置。

7. Blur – 最具有(真实)安全意识的产品

我们满意之处

如果您具有非常强烈的安全意识,那么Blur的Chrome浏览器扩展程序正符合您的需求。它可以将您输入的每一项数据信息进行安全屏蔽处理,不管是信用卡号还是电子邮件或其它任何信息,您可以根据自己的情况选择是显示真实的细节信息,还是“屏蔽”您的信息。

甚至更为不错的是,在Chrome浏览器扩展程序中也可以使用该屏蔽功能!

值得您注意之处

部分用户认为Blur是一款过于安全的产品,因为如果您不小心删除了该扩展程序,然后再重新安装的过程中,会遇到一个相对麻烦的认证过程,其中甚至会要求您重置主安全密码。

工作原理

可以直接通过Chrome商店安装Chrome浏览器扩展程序,但请务必提前注册好一个帐号,也可以通过网络应用程序下载并按照提示进行操作,直到完成整个Chrome安装环节。

8. Zoho Vault – 最适合现有的Zoho用户使用

我们满意之处

Zoho Vault是Zoho Business Suite软件系列产品的拓展产品,因此受到了企业和中小业主的广泛亲睐。通常Zoho软件可以很好的和Chrome浏览器兼容运行,而作为一款密码管理软件也是如此。

值得您注意之处

该Chrome扩展程序有一些不同之处,但同时又和网络中常见的各种安全文件夹相似,将密码称为“秘密”并安全妥善的保管,而同时每一个“秘密”又按照您的意愿进行分类…与此同时这也意味您您还有一些额外的工作需要完成,标记每一个类别,每一次都保存一些数据。

工作原理

通过网络文件夹,或是通过安装程序以及控制面板,都可以下载该浏览器扩展程序。您也可以直接通过Chrome的商店下载它,如果您想一款可以立即上手使用的软件,这会是一个不错的选择。

9. BitWarden – 最好的“多功能合一”扩展程序

我们满意之处

BitWarden的Chrome扩展程序非常的不错,可以满足您的一切需求,它可以安静的在后台运行,在您网络浏览的过程中自动捕获密码。它的表现已近超过了市场上大部分的密码管理软件,更不用说出色的Chrome浏览器扩展程序! 它简单、干净且易于使用(体验令人愉悦)…在其扩展程序中也提供了非常优秀的密码生成程序。

值得您注意之处

BitWarden的Chrome浏览器扩展程序提供了一大堆功能(数据庞大的分类列表、密码生成程序、标签、安全文件夹、工具程序等…以及其它更多功能!),这些服务对于某些用户而言可能过于繁琐。然而,如果您信奉的是“越多越好”的哲学,那么BitWarden是适合您的产品。

工作原理

不论是在安装过程中下载Chrome浏览器扩展程序,还是通过浏览Chrome网络商店并自行安装,请一定妥善保管好安装时的主密码!

10. Myki – 最适合健忘的用户

我们满意之处

Myki是一款略显不同的小型密码管理软件,也提供Chrome扩展程序。首先,不需要提供主密码,但是会需要输入一个Myki的PIN码,其次可以任意设置两步验证的功能…如果用户不小心遗忘主密码,这会提供极大的帮助。

此外,Myki的Chrome浏览器扩展程序的组织有序,甚至可以为您保管两步验证的安全口令,因此如果您想要登录便再不必在设备之间切换。

值得您注意之处

Myki将区分是私人用户还是工作用户登录,如果您选择同时执行这两项操作,您的Chrome扩展程序会同时登录两项服务…这样有的时候,可能会造成一些问题引发混乱。

工作原理

不论是通过网络应用程序,还是使用Chrome的网络商店安装Myki,或是通过自营的网络商店直接下载安装:该浏览器扩展程序都提供了相当不错的功能,甚至可以作为单独的平台使用。

Google Chrome最佳密码管理软件

就在几年前,如果您想要一款可以配合Google Chrome浏览器流畅使用的密码管理软件,那么您只有一个选择:LastPass。

有趣的是,就在过去短短的几年时间里,事情发生了很多的变化,市场上很多其它的密码管理软件纷纷进入这块领域,开始研发,甚至不止如此,适配Chrome的独特的操作系统。

Google SmartLock 对比 密码管理软件

正如前文所述,也许您会想究竟是为什么需要为Chrome浏览器选择一款合适的密码管理软件,毕竟Chrome在其标准的内部生态系统中就已经提供了类似的服务,便是Chrome SmartLock功能。您也许也注意到了该功能可以为您保存密码,而且安静的运行,并不会对您的操作产生任何的影响,其表现也值得称赞。

但是,同时也存在着一个巨大的不足,因为那已经SmartLock提供的所有内容。不同于其它Chrome密码管理软件,您可以享受丰富的功能,包括密码分享、密码强度报告,甚至是全面、非常让人惊叹的密码生成程序。

此外,还有一些用户也没有意料的其它功能,比如VPN服务,甚至还有暗网(Dark Web)监测。

以下是关于为什么SmartLock不足以满足您对管理密码需求的一些简要快评:

  • SmartLock仅可使用于Google的产品 – 而其它的密码管理软件可支持跨数十种操作系统和设备
  • SmartLock存在安全性隐患 – 密码管理软件具有可开启多步验证,主密码以及其它安全保护功能
  • SmartLock仅可存储密码 – 其它的密码管理软件还可以存储保管各类安全信息,例如银行信息、甚至支持安全文档(如社会保障详细信息、出生证明等)
  • SmartLock不能够导入或导出密码 – 虽然以前提供了该功能,但目前Google已经禁用了该功能。而其它的密码管理软件允许您导入或导出您的密码,并采用有趣或创新性的方式。

事实上,SmartLock和其它密码管理软件最重要也是最明显的差异就在于安全级别。对于黑客而言,Smart Lock是相当容易访问并控制的,他们可以轻而易举的打开您的Chrome浏览器并进入隐身模式,再转到‘高级设置(Advanced Settings)’,随后再将一切的密码全部删除,实现这一切并非难事,毕竟Google Chrome浏览器在登录的过程只要求输入密码就可以了。

下图就为您展示了Google Chrome浏览器被攻击后,黑客所进行的一些简单的操作…

Google SmartLock 对比 密码管理软件

…以上为您展示作为一款密码管理软件,安全性能是多么的重要,尤其需要向您强调的是如主安全密码、两步(或多步)验证,以及其它安全功能,都是一款密码管理软件所必需的标准功能。

关于免费密码管理软件的简单概况

在这方面,还需要提醒您的一个重要方面便是:免费的密码管理软件。

俗话讲,世界上没有免费的午餐。

那么对于免费的密码管理软件有意味着什么,例如Chrome的密码管理软件,根据经验来看,购买一款付费的密码管理软件确实可以让您享受到更多的服务,满足更多的需求。

大部分Chrome密码管理软件都提供某种形式的免费或免费试用的服务,但这两种服务其实都会受到一定的限制:比如Dashlane的免费版本,只允许您访问密码管理软件的产品…而且保存密码的数量限制为50个,仅可在一台设备上登录。

另一方面,免费试用产品如LastPass的30天免费试用,在试用期内您可以随意访问并使用密码管理软件的任何功能,但是一旦试用期截止,您将无法访问所有保存的密码。

其它方面,Chrome浏览器内置的解决方案看上去解决了上述的问题,可以存储并自动填写密码。但是没有安全功能保障,也没有密码生成程序,或是密码分享功能以及其它不错的附加功能,并不能够满足用户的实际需求,因此我们建议您从最佳Chrome密码管理软件(2019)列表中选择适合自己的产品。

透明度和信任 – 作为唯一一家可以让用户和其它社区成员自由交流意见并分享评论的网站,我们对此感到自豪。如果您通过我们网站的链接访问防病毒产品网站,我们就可以获得联盟佣金以更好地为您服务。详细了解我们的运营情况

The Best Password Managers for Chrome 2019

Transparency and Trust – We pride ourselves on being the only site where users can freely contribute and share their reviews on any antivirus with other community members. When you visit an antivirus site we link to, we sometimes get affiliate commissions that support our work. Read more about how we operate.
Felicity Kay
Cybersecurity Expert
Updated: November 20, 2019

The Best Password Managers for Chrome 2019

Yes, Chrome’s password manager solution is free, automatic and pretty straightforward to use – if you’ve even noticed it’s there at all – but it might not keep you safe online, and it doesn’t come with any cool extra features.

We don’t want you to accidentally discover that a free password manager (like Chrome’s password manager) gives you exactly what you pay for: a very limited password saver, which might not be all that secure.

We’ve done the hard work and reviewed over 70 password managers for you: here are our recommended best password managers for Chrome:

  1. LastPass – Best for a Flawless Chrome Extension
  2. Dashlane – Best for Extra Features You Never Knew You Needed
  3. RoboForm – Best for Versatility Across OS
  4. Enpass – Best for Chrome-First Users
  5. 1Password – Best For Chrome Ease of Use
  6. Keeper – Best for Sharing
  7. Blur – Best for (Really) Security-Conscious
  8. Zoho Vault – Best for Existing Zoho Users
  9. BitWarden – Best for Its “All-In-One” Extension
  10. Myki – Best for Forgetful Users

To learn more about choosing the best password manager for Chrome, click here.

How We Rate The Best Password Managers for Chrome

We’ve reviewed almost 70 password managers, of all shapes, sizes and included features – so we’ve seen a thing or two, and report it all back to you so you can make the best buying choice for your needs.

Here’s how we rate and review each password manager for Chrome: we check for the –

  • Feature Set: what sort of features do each best password manager for Chrome provide? Is there an included free plan, or is premium-only?
  • Security: a big issue with Chrome’s in-built password manager is its lack of security. How do other best password managers for Chrome compare?
  • Number of platforms, OS and devices supported: because your password manager should work with your Chrome device but also support syncing across your other devices and platforms.
  • Pricing: does the password manager offer a free trial, is it worth it, or is it better to buy a paid version? We look at what you get, and whether the paid plans are really worth it.

The Best Password Managers for Chrome (2019) – Updated

The best password manager for Chrome devices could have a range of extra features that you’d never even thought about – from password sharing for family or team users, to multi-device sync for individual users, each of our top selections below has been researched and reviewed from every angle imaginable.

Overall, we think the best password manager for Chrome 2019 has to be LastPass, for its intuitive, unobtrusive Chrome browser extension, and its autosyncing cross-browser and cross-device. A special mention goes out to its Android app, which is a great standalone password manager, but an even better one when synced with the Chrome browser!

1. LastPass – Best for a Flawless Chrome Extension

Why we like it

LastPass comes out top in most lists: it works beautifully direct from Chrome itself, but also across most OS and devices (even Internet Explorer!), allowing you to easily and intuitively sync across any device or platform.

Its Chrome extension takes only one click to install, and even gives you access to their highly respected secure password generator. The ‘Recently Used’ browser in the extension itself feature also keeps you informed of the passwords you’ve used recently, meaning you can keep an eye on any potentially suspicious logins!

What you should know

While LastPass scores highly across the board – for its range of features, ease of use and more – one thing you have to know is that, unlike Google Chrome’s SmartLock, which does it automatically, any passwords you want to import has to either be done manually, via CSV, or from another password manager.

How it works

After installing LastPass on your device, you’ll be given a link to install the Chrome extension. Afterwards, you’ll be guided to create a secure master password. If you’d like to, you can then install the

app, or just start navigating to your favorite sites and get importing your passwords as you go.

2. Dashlane – Best for Extra Features You Never Knew You Needed

Why we like it

Dashlane regularly tops ‘best password manager for Chrome’ (and best password manager in general) charts, due to its really clean, easy user interface, but mostly due to its strange but necessary extra features: Dark Web monitoring and a VPN. So far, so much more advanced than SmartLock.

Dashlane’s ChromeOS browser plugin allows you to easily one-click import your existing password…but that’s not even the best part. Trouncing anything that Smartlock has (or could) ever offer, is the direct from browser automatic one-click password generator and changer: you’ll see a list of all your imported passwords, alongside a report of how secure they are, along with some, automatically suggested stronger ones…and with just one click, you can change every single one of them to the stronger passwords.

What you should know

If you’re looking to try our Dashlane’s free version, you might be disappointed – you’ll only have access to a few of the most basic features, alongside 50 passwords and one device. We say – it’s better to plunge straight in with the premium version, so you can hit the ground running.

How it works

Download Dashlane or go straight to the Chrome extension page, and login or setup your master password. Depending on if you’ve enabled two-factor authentication, you’ll receive an SMS on your mobile device with a code to login.

3. RoboForm – Best for Versatility Across OS

Why we like it

While RoboForm has a browser extension or app for you, it’s the password manager’s Chrome extension that particularly impressed us.

RoboForm’s offline access and local storage options, coupled with a slick, easy to use Chrome extension make this one of our favorite password managers on the market.

What you should know

RoboForm’s password generator and two-factor authentication aren’t as exciting or as versatile as other password managers’ we’ve seen, but it has one, and it’s also accessible from the Chrome browser extension.

How it works

Navigate to the Chrome extension – either via the web app or by Googling ‘Chrome RoboForm extension’ (you’ll need to have an account set up beforehand), then set up your master password, and start importing your passwords. It’s all very straightforward.

4. Enpass – Best for Chrome-First Users

Why we like it

Enpass shouts from the rooftops that it’s the ‘first ever offline password manager for Chromebooks’ – meaning it’s totally optimized for Chrome’s OS.

If you’re a fan of Chrome’s SmartLock, then think of Enpass as similar, just upgraded: it has a super strong password generator (which SmartLock doesn’t) and it’s way more versatile and secure too.

What you should know

Enpass uses local storage. SmartLock’s cloud encrypted password storage will probably be a more secure option for some users…although Enpass is a zero-knowledge password manager and uses local encryption. It really comes down to what your security preferences are.

How it works

Download Enpass without a subscription – just go to the Chrome store, install the Enpass web/mobile app, and you’re done. If you decide to install Enpass on your other devices, you should first set up your master password and import all of your other passwords – they’ll sync automatically across your devices.

5. 1Password – Best For Chrome Ease of Use

Why we like it

1Password is simple and easy to use – which makes it go so nicely with Chrome. The browser extension offers quite a lot of interesting options, including a really handy search bar in the extension, as well as the password generator too.

That and, it also captures passwords automatically as you visit websites – that’s really not to be taken for granted!

What you should know

If you’re planning on installing 1Password’s Chrome browser extension, be warned – it’s best to do so via the web app, as just searching for ‘1Password’ in the Chrome store gives you 3, slightly confusing, options.

How it works

Download the 1Password desktop client (it’s not an app) and you’ll be prompted to download the Chrome password manager browser extension (and the right one, at that) – you’ll need to set up an account first though.

6. Keeper – Best for Sharing

Why we like it

Keeper itself is a very versatile password manager – and its Chrome extension continues this trend. Whether you’re an individual, a Business or Enterprise user, you’ll find a LOT included on the Chrome browser extension – unlimited device syncing, secure record sharing and even access to the password generator. That’s not something that every password manager can do.

What you should know

While there’s a 30-day free trial of Keeper, you won’t find a free plan, but the good news is that Keeper really is worth it. The password autocapture, the password generator and the really easy to use interface will have you organized in no time.

How it works

Keeper is a one-click install password manager – from Chrome’s store, or from the web app, and it comes with an impressive auto-password importing function. You need to make sure you have a master password and your two-factor authentication set up before installing the Chrome browser extension though.

7. Blur – Best for (Really) Security-Conscious

$14.99 - $39.00 / year

Why we like it

If you’re super-security conscious, then Blur’s Chrome browser extension is just what you’re looking for. It comes with a masking option for every type of data you input – whether it’s your credit card, email addresses or otherwise, you’re always given the option to either use your real details, or to “mask” your details.

Even better – that masking option is available right from the Chrome browser extension!

What you should know

Some users say Blur is a little too secure – if you happen to delete the browser extension and then reinstall it, there’s a little bit of a confusing reauthentication process involving generating a new passphrase that’s not your master password.

How it works

Install the Chrome browser extension straight from the Chrome store, but make sure to sign up for an account first, or download the web app and follow the prompts until you get to the Chrome installation stage.

8. Zoho Vault – Best for Existing Zoho Users

Why we like it

Zoho Vault is an extension of the Zoho Business Suite software so popular with entrepreneurs and small businesses. The Chrome browser works nicely as a part of the Zoho software in general, and as a password manager by itself too.

What you should know

This best Chrome password manager extension is a bit strange, but it’s pretty similar to the web vault – passwords are called “secrets”, and each “secret” is categorized by you…meaning there’s a little bit of extra work, labeling each category, each time you save some data.

How it works

Download the browser extension from the web vault, either during installation or from the dashboard. You could even go straight to the Chrome store to download it, which is a very easy option if you’re looking to get started right away.

9. BitWarden – Best for Its “All-In-One” Extension

$1.00 - $10.00 / year

Why we like it

BitWarden’s password manager for Chrome extension is pretty much all you need – it sits silently in the background, automatically capturing passwords as you surf. That’s already better than most password managers, let alone most Chrome browser extensions! It’s simple, clean and really easy (and pleasant) to use..and its fantastic password generator is available from the extension, too.

What you should know

BitWarden’s password manager Chrome extension has a LOT going on (huge, categorized lists; a password generator; tabs; vaults; tools…and more!), which might be a bit much for some users. Still, if you like this “the more, the merrier” approach, then BitWarden Chrome is for you.

How it works

Either download the Chrome browser extension during the setup process, or navigate to the Chrome web store and install it yourself – just make sure to remember your master password when installing it!

10. Myki – Best for Forgetful Users

Why we like it

Myki is such a strange little password manager, and its password manager for Chrome extension is too. For one thing, it doesn’t require a master password, but a Myki PIN number, and any two-factor authentication you set up…which means it’s a great option for forgetful users who can’t remember their master password.

Otherwise Myki’s Chrome extension is well organized, and even saves your two-factor authentication tokens for you, so you don’t need to switch between devices when trying to sign in.

What you should know

Myki has separate logins for individual users and business users – if you choose to do both, your Chrome extension will give you both options for sign in…which could become confusing and could lead to a few mixups.

How it works

Either install Myki via its web app and then navigate to Chrome’s web store, or just install it by itself from the web store: the browser extension is so functional that it pretty much works as a standalone platform.

The Best Chrome Passwords Managers

Even up until a few years ago, if you were looking for a seamless password manager integration with Google Chrome, you’d really only have one option: LastPass.

Interestingly, in the past few years, other password managers have come to the market that are just as well-built – if not more so – to handle Chrome’s unique OS.

Google SmartLock vs Password Managers for Chrome

On that note, you might even be wondering why you’d need a password manager for Chrome at all, since Chrome comes as standard with its own inbuilt system – the Chrome SmartLock. You might see it pop up here and there once you have a password to save – its silent, it’s unobtrusive, and it does what it says on the tin.

But – and it’s a big but – that’s literally all that SmartLock does. With other password managers for Chrome, you’ll enjoy a massive range of features, including password sharing, password strength reports and even the almighty, awe-inspiring password generator.

That and, there might even be some other features included that you’d never even thought of – such as VPN, or even Dark Web monitoring.

Here’s a quick overview of why SmartLock might not be enough for your password management needs:

  • SmartLock only works with Google products – other password managers work across dozens of OS and devices
  • SmartLock has questionable security – password managers have multi-factor authentication, master password and more keeping them secure
  • SmartLock only stores passwords – other password managers store a whole range of other secure information, such as banking information, and even secure documents (such as social security details, birth certificates, etc)
  • SmartLock won’t allow you to import or export your passwords – it used to, but Google discontinued that function. Other password managers allow you to import and export your passwords in a few interesting, innovative ways.

In fact, the most important and noticeable difference between SmartLock and other password managers is the level of security. Smart Lock is pretty easy for hackers to get into – al they would have to do to scrape all of your passwords is open your Chrome in incognito mode, go to ‘Advanced Settings’, and it’s all there for them – because Google Chrome never requests a password once you’re already logged in.

Here’s all the good stuff a hacker can easily access from your Google Chrome browser…

Google SmartLock vs Password Managers for Chrome

…it just goes to show how secure a password manager can be, especially when you think about features like a master password, two- (or multi-) factor authentication and other security features that are included as standard.

A Word On Free Password Managers

On that note, there’s one more important thing you need to be aware of: free password managers.

As the saying goes, there’s no such thing as a free lunch.

What that means for a free password manager – such as Chrome’s password manager, is that you might find that buying a premium version of a password manager actually serves your needs better.

Most password managers for Chrome have some form of free version or free trial on offer, although both come with serious limitations: a free version – such as Dashlane‘s – will give you access to the entire password manager’s goods…but will only store up to 50 passwords, on one device.

On the other hand, a free trial, such as LastPass’ 30-day free trial, will give you all-access to everything the password manager has to offer...but after 30 days, you’ll lose access to all of your saved passwords.

On the other other hand, Chrome’s in-built solution does just what it says on the tin – it stores and autofill your passwords. There’s no extra security, or password generator, or password sharing or any of the cool extra features you’ll find on our other, recommended list of the best password manager for Chrome (2019).

Transparency and Trust – We pride ourselves on being the only site where users can freely contribute and share their reviews on any antivirus with other community members. When you visit an antivirus site we link to, we sometimes get affiliate commissions that support our work. Read more about how we operate.